Music Talk Board
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Changing your singing voice?

5 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Changing your singing voice? Empty Changing your singing voice? Wed Aug 15, 2012 7:04 pm

jglover4168

jglover4168
New User

Any ideas on how to change a singing voice? I just started trying to learn to sing.. my goal is to learn a song that I can play on guitar and sing at the same time. I'm trying to find my voice though and it's a bit hard to get the right sound.
I feel like when I sing what I hear is good, but after I listen to the recording I realize it's not what I was expecting haha.

2Changing your singing voice? Empty Re: Changing your singing voice? Wed Aug 15, 2012 7:37 pm

Grungie

Grungie
Admin
Admin

I'm not really a prolific singer, so all I can say is, keep practicing and you'll be able to keep the pitch of the song. Kind of how you keep practicing guitar so you can play it smoother.

Whether or not people will enjoy the timbre of your voice is a different matter.

3Changing your singing voice? Empty Re: Changing your singing voice? Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:27 pm

jglover4168

jglover4168
New User

timbre... good word choice. That's what I'm really trying to figure out..

4Changing your singing voice? Empty Re: Changing your singing voice? Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:38 pm

Grungie

Grungie
Admin
Admin

I don't think you can do much to change your timbre. You could be like Bob Dylan and Willie Nelson who have terrible voices, but it matches their music.

So it really boils down to delivery.

5Changing your singing voice? Empty Re: Changing your singing voice? Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:45 pm

The Empyrean

The Empyrean
New User

I grab my testicles.
It really brings out them tortured screams.

6Changing your singing voice? Empty Re: Changing your singing voice? Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:46 pm

nastyn8

nastyn8
Board Addict
Board Addict